March 6, 2008

Wayne State University\'s Journalism Program Honors Detroit Free Press

Detroit, March 6, 2008-Ben Burns, director of the journalism program in WSU's Dept of Communication announced the winners of the 2008 George F. Pierrot Award for Journalists of the Year - Detroit Free Press reporters M.L. Elrick and Jim Schaefer for their investigation and reporting on the Mayor's Text Message Scandal.

Elrick and Schaefer received the award at the Journalism Day Luncheon, at WSU's St. Andrew's Hall, fielding questions from and conferring with the 60 plus journalism faculty and students in attendance.

Previous winners have included the staff of WWJ NewsRadio 950 (CBS), and Mike Wendland, Detroit Free Press convergence editor & technology columnist.

Wayne State University is a premier institution of higher education offering more than 350 academic programs through 12 schools and colleges to more than 33,000 students in metropolitan Detroit.



Alicia Nails
Phone: (313) 577-6304

Related articles