April 11, 1997

Women of Wayne awards luncheon slated

Five WSU alumnae will receive the Women of Wayne Headliner Award at an 11 a.m. luncheon Saturday, May 3, at the Detroit Athletic Club.

Awards will be presented to Irma Clark (fine arts, 1977 and 1987), president of the Detroit Board of Education; Carol Garza (liberal arts, 1963), Volunteer Literacy tutor; Denise Gray (liberal arts, 1979), executive director of the Empowerment Development Corp.; Margaret Hillert (education, 1948), writer and poet; and Kathy Krause (education, 1985 and 1988), director of Michigan programs for Lutheran Special Education Ministries.

The Headliner Awards have been given annually since 1967 by the Women of Wayne Alumni Association.

Also being honored that day is Emma Myrick (business, 1983). She will receive the Women of Wayne Service Award, given to the member who has demonstrated significant service to the Women of Wayne and to the university. Myrick has served in WOW leadership positions and on numerous committees in her 10 years of membership.

The program begins with an 11 a.m. reception. Lunch is at 11:30 a.m., followed by the awards program. Registration fee is $28.50 per person. For more information call 577-2169.


Public Relations
Phone: (313) 577-2150

Related articles